Liebster Award Blog-A-Thon

Earlier today I had the pleasure of seeing that Alex of And So It Begins… had passed the Liebster blog award on to me. So now it’s my turn to share some things about me and answer some questions. Here are the rules of the blog-a-thon:

  1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
  2. Answer the 11 questions the person giving the award has set for you.
  3. Create 11 questions for the people you will be giving the award to.
  4. Choose 11 people to award and send them a link to your post.
  5. Go to their page and tell them.
  6. No tag backs.

11 Things About Me:

  1. I’ve loved music all my life.
  2. My favorite musical artists of all time are Frank Sinatra and Bob Dylan.
  3. Recently my favorite band has been M83.
  4. I haven’t written anything in three months without listening to either M83, Mumford & Sons, or Of Monsters and Men.
  5. The first movie I can remember seeing is The Jungle Book.
  6. By the time I was eight I had seen all three original Star Wars films, the Indiana Jones Trilogy, and the Lord of the Rings Trilogy.
  7. I am fascinated with the sport of baseball.
  8. The three topics that interest me the most are philosophy, psychology, and film.
  9. In film I prefer black and white cinematography over color.
  10. My favorite book is The Great Gatsby
  11. I’m currently putting the finishing touches on my first screenplay.

Now to Answer some questions:

 1. What is your favorite film of all time? Just one. Go.

I’d have to go with Werckmeister Harmonies. No Film has affected me in the same way that it has.

2. What is your favorite song of all time? Just one. Go.

Just one? I’d have to go with Bob Dylan’s Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door.

 3. Who is your favorite film director of all time?

Ingmar Bergman. His films have literally changed the way I look at life and death.

4. What is the best television show you have ever seen?

Overall the television show thats stands as both my favorite and the best that I have seen is Arrested Development. Perfect writing, perfect acting, and all-around hilarious.

 5. Which place would you feel more at ease: the woods of Deliverance, or Maynard’s basement in Pulp Fiction?

I’ve never seen Deliverance but I have seen Pulp Fiction and based on that I’m gonna go with the woods in Deliverance. Do you really want to be around the Gimp?

 6. What is the best portrayal of addiction you’ve ever seen on film?

The answer to this depends on the type of addiction. If it’s referring to addicition as a whole then I’d say Requiem For a Dream’s portrayal of addiction was very real and absolutely horrifying.

 7. Do you respond to comments left on your blog? If not, why?

Absolutely! I love seeing comments on here.

 8. Were you born a movie fan, or was there an event (or specific film) that turned you on to films?

I’ve always loved movies but the film that really turned it into a passion and made me want to make films was when I watched A Clockwork Orange when I was 11.

 9. What’s the best looking film you’ve ever seen? Specifically is it relates to cinematography.

Well no matter what film I chose it’s going to have been shot by either Emmanuel Lubezki or Sven Nykvist. With that said I’d have to go with Winter Light which, in my opinion, is Nykvist at his very best.

 10. Do you own any Criterion DVDs or Blu-Rays? If so, how many?

Yes, yes I do. Criterion and Barnes & Nobles came together this month to make me spend a large amount of money. Prior to July I had 13 Criterion films. I now have 32.

 11.What is your favorite Criterion movie cover?

My Favorite Criterion cover is Kirk Douglas’ look of agony on the cover of Paths of Glory.

Here are my eleven questions for you:

  1. Which do you prefer: Foreign films or english-language films?
  2. Black & White or color?
  3. Has any film changed the way you look at something? If so, which one and what did it change?
  4. What part of the filmmaking process interests you the most?
  5. Have you started working on creating your own films?
  6. Did you discover film on your own or did someone expose you to it?
  7. What’s your favorite genre?
  8. Do you just enjoy watching films, is it actually a career path that you want to pursue, or do you already work in the film industry?
  9. When a novel is adapted to film do you read the book before watching it or vice versa? 
  10. What do you think is the most powerful creative medium? Why?
  11. What’s the best use of music you’ve ever seen in film?

So now it is my turn to pass the baton to the next eleven. Sorry if there are any repeats. Here they are:

http://thevoid99.blogspot.com/

http://azizaspicks.blogspot.com/

http://movienut14.blogspot.com/

http://magnoliaforever.wordpress.com/

http://thefilmemporium.blogspot.com/

http://splendidandlovely.blogspot.com/

http://myfilmviews.com/

http://tdylf.com/

http://www.undy-a-hundy.com/

http://thevelvetcafe.wordpress.com/

http://aswedetalksmovies.com/

12 thoughts on “Liebster Award Blog-A-Thon

  1. Great stuff. My favourite film of all time is also Werckmeister, but you probably knew that.

    I’ll mention you when I do a Liebster post but since Kyle of The Movie Scene passed the award on to me first, I’ll answer his eleven questions. But thanks Ethan! Great site and great post!

    • Thanks for checking this out! Werckmeister is one magnificent film. In fact it was your praise of it that led to me watching it. So thank you for that.

      Can’t wait to see your post!

  2. Thank you so much! It’s so kind of you to give me this award. Not yet sure if I’ll make a post about it, I’ve gotten four awards now and 44 questions feel a bit overwhelming. 🙂

    Glad to see you gave some love to my fellow Swede also!

    • Oh wow 44 is quite a lot of questions. Congratulations on getting four awards! If you do decide to post about this I’ll be sure to check it out.

      Thanks for checking out my post and commenting!

  3. Dude, I don’t even know where to begin here. This post is amazing. M83, Werckmeister, Bob Dylan, Bergman, Nykvist… it’s almost as if I wrote this myself haha.

    Seriously great stuff.

  4. LOVE Arrested Development, I could rewatch it over and over again and I always find something new in it, which is quite unusal for comedy series.

    • Arrested Development really is the best comedy series of all time for me. No other show has been as entertaining, hilarious, and (as you said) multi-layered.

Leave a Reply

